Memorizing the Mind of God

“I want to keep it handy in case I need it,” she said, matter-of-factly.

She wasn’t talking about a flashlight.

Not a package of tissues.

Not a cell phone – they hadn’t been invented in 1978.

She was talking about Isaiah 55.

“I liked it,” she went on.  “So I memorized it.”

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
without money and without cost.
Why spend money on what is not bread,
and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
and you will delight in the richest of fare.”

The words poured from her lips, because they were, indeed, handy, and although the pale yellow V.W. Rabbit continued on its way south down Route 1, I had been stopped in my tracks at the miracle of memorization.  My friend had captured for herself the treasure of thirteen verses of exquisite beauty and stunning promises — mountains and hills bursting into song and trees clapping their hands – all for the LORD’s glory and renown.

There is no way she could have known that my view of Scripture would be forever changed on that bumpy pot-holed ride, for I saw clearly that, in my friend’s mind, the Words of God were a banquet — all delightful — and she would have devoured them all given the time and opportunity.

//

I’m so pleased to be part of The Word Works Series with Bethany McIlrath on First and Second Blog.  Click here to join me over there to read the rest of my post in which I share how God has continued to use His Word to sift and winnow my thoughts.  Have you discovered the true meaning of learning the Truth by heart?

//

Photo credit

Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with a number of blogging  communities on a regular basis.  They are listed in the left sidebar by day of the week.  I hope that you will enjoy reading the work of some fine writers and thinkers.

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

18 thoughts on “Memorizing the Mind of God”

  1. Once we hide God’s Word in our hearts, nothing and nobody can steal those wonderful-words-of-life from us.

    And that is worth celebrating … and cultivating. Thanks, Michele …

    Like

  2. Hi Michele! You are so “in my business” today with this excellent post. I confess I am not good at this generally. I have verses and passages memorized, but I have not initially simply made a decision to do so. They are ones which the Lord powerfully used in my life at a significant growth or turning point in my life that brought me hope and encouragement beyond human words. I could be storing up other passages in advance of those things even though those I have memorized have worked in many and varied times in my life. I think my challenge is that as a child I memorized KJV which seems to have a rhythm. Then I have some of these key verses I mentioned in NAS. These days I often am reading in varied translations seeking to discover more in a passage, but often more modern language is not as easily memorized. No excuses on that….just my challenge. Today you managed to remind me once again to seek the Lord for how He would address me heart about memorization of scripture. Thanks, my friend!

    Like

    1. The bonus is that the stuff we memorize when we are young sticks with us. It gets harder to memorize as we get older (but not impossible as some say), and we have to work at “keeping it” through regular review.

      Like

      1. This is so important. It’s so true that memorizing gets tougher as the years mount up. The Lord’s Prayer, Psalm 23 and Jeremiah 33:3 (God’s phone number) are still hanging with me because I locked them in so long ago. Making time to etch the words in your mind when your brain is still pliable will not depart from you when you really need it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

