Spring Is a Promise

“Spring is a promise in the closed fist of a long winter . . .”

Lifted from a poem by Luci Shaw, these words frame my thinking on this blustery day when the promises I made to myself and to God back in January about healthy choices and better habits have begun to sputter out for lack of oxygen; when no one even remembers what the groundhog saw or didn’t see.

Here in Maine, March 2o, the first day of spring, is just another number on the calendar, and so until winter opens its fist on the promise of spring, I’m sticking close to some promises of a more reliable sort.

And I’m sharing those promises today over at Faith ‘n Friends, so I hope you click on over and join me there!

//

Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with a number of blogging  communities on a regular basis.  They are listed in the left sidebar by day of the week.  I hope that you will take a moment to enjoy reading the work of some of these fine writers and thinkers.

Published by

Michele Morin

Michele Morin is a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. She has been married to an unreasonably patient husband for over 25 years, and their four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Michele loves hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop her in her tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. She laments biblical illiteracy and advocates for the prudent use of “little minutes.” She blogs at Living Our Days, and you can connect with her on Facebook or Twitter.

17 thoughts on “Spring Is a Promise”

      1. She lives north of where I live so it has been a privilege to be at some gatherings of writers and arts’ folks where she is one among us. She is a marvel still going strong and active well into her 80s.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s funny reading a post about Spring – mine was about Autumn (I’m in Australia so our seasons are opposite) same thought though – I love these mellow months x

    Like

  2. Wonderful scripture and when spring pops its head out here in the south, I’ll be thinking of them. Thankful you shared to bring hope and cheer to all of us here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this Michele and spring has sprung in Texas along with spring storms this evening and tomorrow. That’s the part of spring I dislike, but I do love all the flowers that are springing forth in my flower beds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

