Divine Design

“As Christian women, we desire to honor God by living countercultural lives that reflect the beauty of Christ and His gospel to our world . . .”

These powerful words lifted from the True Woman Manifesto are a wake up call to women, an invitation to enter into a life based on truth, and to view womanhood as a glorious gift that puts the creativity and wisdom of God on display.

In True Woman 101:  Divine Design, Mary Kassian and Nancy Leigh DeMoss (now Wolgemuth), share their own very unique stories of following God into ministry —  Mary as a wife and mother, Nancy as a single woman at the time of the book’s publication.  Certainly, marital status is no barrier to active and meaningful ministry.

While many in the church waste valuable time quibbling over what women should do or may do, the word of God is clear in its teaching that, although marred by the fall, the role of a godly woman is to exhibit wholehearted devotion to Christ, to display purity of heart and a quiet spirit in her use of the unique ministry gifts that God has granted.

When Jesus referred to the Holy Spirit as the Helper, he forever exalted the role of those who come alongside to assist. This is a powerful message for women who want their homes to be launching pads for the next generation of world-changers, for women who are called to meet the needs of others outside their family circle, and for women of all ages and of all giftings who desire to be intentional and purposeful in living a countercultural life that puts others first.

The words of Elisabeth Elliot are a magnificent mission statement:

“We are called to be women.  The fact that I am a woman does not make me a different kind of Christian, but the fact that I am a Christian does make me a different kind of woman.  For I have accepted God’s idea of me, and my whole life is an offering back to Him of all that I am and all that He wants me to be.”

True Woman 101 is an eight-week study that serves as an invitation to throw away the cookie cutters and delight in the differences between men and women as well as the differences among women of diverse temperaments, at various stages in life, and with different callings.  We live our lives before God “to the end that Christ may be exalted and the glory and redeeming love of God may be displayed throughout the whole earth.”

//

This book was provided by Moody Publishers in exchange for my review.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with a number of blogging  communities on a regular basis.  They are listed in the left sidebar by day of the week.  I hope that you will take a moment to enjoy reading the work of some of these fine writers and thinkers.

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

13 thoughts on “Divine Design”

  1. Our church used one of the True Woman studies as a basis for our Woman’s retreat one year. It was fabulous. I’m a big fan of Nancy Leigh. Great quote by Elisabeth Elliot, she is a favorite as well! Blessings on your weekend, Michele!

    Like

  2. I’m going to make a note of this study. Sounds like a solid and helpful one in a much confused area. Thanks for your, as always, helpful review ( :
    LInda

    Like

  3. ‘Divine Design.’

    What more could we ask for, what a delight to reflect on this truth. He has something for each of us to be, to do. This study sounds like it would be a terrific help in taking us there.

    Thanks for the review, Michele!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michele so much in this post. I loved this. I have such a heart for ministry and today our church hosted a big missionary conference. One thing the preacher said about water spoke to me. People in some countries look for water to drink and we quibble about whether we want lemon water, sparkly water and on and on. This study sounds so very good and reflects on what we are all here. I love blogging and love reading yours. We are digital evangelists and I take it so seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I did this study through my church two years ago, and it was such a blessing! I learned so much about the woman God designed me to be. Everything that God taught me through this study has helped me greatly through my first year of marriage and now as I begin my journey as a soon-to-be mama! So glad to see this being shared with others 🙂

    Like

  6. Wow! I can relate to this book because I seek to figure out what ministry work I can do in the church or around my city. The quote from Elisabeth Elliot had me ready to give another woman a high five. So spot on. This book is one that could really impact me. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

