Chosen!

The Liebster award?

I had never heard of it either, but its roots are German, and the word “liebster” has several definitions:  dearest, sweetest, beloved.  In the world of blogging, you show your love by reading, so when Lisanne, also a blogger, nominated me for the Liebster award, I felt loved and appreciated just to know that someone is out there reading!

Here’s how it works:

The Liebster Award is given by bloggers to fellow bloggers in order to support and encourage them. The guidelines for receiving the award vary; however, the general rules are as follows:

– Recipients post their award to their blog in a blog post
– They must answer the 10 questions that were given by the fellow blogger who nominated them
– Then, joy!  The recipient nominates 3-10 other bloggers with fewer than 3,000 followers
– Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer

Fun!

If you’re up for it, I’ll continue by answering the questions Lisanne posed:

  1.  Are you content in blogging, or is it your dream/aspiration or calling to write?  For me, blogging IS writing because it provides the accountability and motivation that I seem to need to take myself by the scruff of the neck and WRITE every day.
  2. What holds you back?  I’m fairly certain that this question is asking what keeps me from writing more or doing more with my writing.  In this season, it is right that my writing stay within certain boundaries.  To be honest, for nearly twenty years, my writing was limited to baby books and rhymed clues for birthday scavenger hunts.  I don’t feel “held back” at all with my two-or-three-times-a-week posting schedule.
  3. What is your favorite, most genuine or impactful post in your opinion?  Funny you should ask that, because someone else asked me recently which of my posts had the most readers.  Um. . . I had to figure out how to discover that piece of data first, and, when I did, I was surprised to find that my most-read post was a biographical sketch/book review of my favorite poet Luci Shaw.  Next in line was a bio sketch of Elisabeth Elliot right after she passed away, and then, interestingly enough, a surprise post that I wrote to my husband for our twenty-fifth anniversary.  I’m still trying to figure out what these statistics reveal about my readers’ preferences!
  4. What leads you to write?  I can’t remember EVER not wanting to put pen or pencil to a page and scribble.  I’ve journaled off and on all my life.  When my babies were all little, I used to joke that milestones hadn’t really happened until I had written them in their baby book.  I think that my blogging has come about out of my desire to communicate truth from the Bible, first of all to the ladies in my church whom I love and who endure my teaching and devotionals in all kinds of different contexts.  I’ve been teaching the kids at my church for so long that I’m about to begin a second generation.  I’m not sure if I’m a teacher who writes or a writer who teaches.
  5. Do you have a profession other than writing?  I’ve been a stay-at-home mum for nearly 22 years.  Seventeen of those years have involved homeschooling at least one child, and for five years I was teaching all four boys.  Now that I have “only” two left in school, I find time here and there to write and study, which is bliss.  We have a family lawn mowing business in the summer, and I help out with that and manage a huge vegetable garden, canning and freezing all the produce.  For example, last summer the garden produced well over 60 quarts of green beans.  Although not employed outside the home, I am well-entertained.
  6. Do you find it beneficial to engage in webinars or conferences?  Snort — see response to number 5.
  7. Does your family understand your desire to write?  Yes, I think so, because they all have passions that they follow and that energize them.  I must emphasize that I truly believe (with no martyr’s complex or nobility or even a hint of identification with the Proverbs 31 lady) that my family is my first responsibility, calling, vocation, priority.  I write in the small spaces around the edges, and try to do all my rough drafts by hand to cut down on the amount of time I spend in front of a screen.  I slap a picture or sometimes two into my blog posts after they are typed, and if becoming technically proficient ever became a requirement, it would consume all the time that I now use to read, write, and study.  Roughly two-thirds of my posts are book reviews, so I’m always reading, and I have to be careful not to let books distract me from the real life that’s going on around me all the time.
  8. If you aspire to write, is your choice memoir, fiction, devotional or other?  Hmmm.  I’d love to be able to write fiction, but I don’t think I have the imagination to create another world and then to populate it convincingly.  Every so often, I dream about writing Bible study materials.
  9. What’s your favorite song?  It depends on the season.  Right now I’m completely hooked on Handel’s Messiah because it’s November, and Handel always gets my heart moving toward Thanksgiving and Advent.  Elisabeth von Trapp has the most fluid and melodious voice I’ve ever heard, and her cd’s are in the kitchen right now.  Have  you ever heart Robert Frost’s poems put to music?
  10. What’s your favorite food?  So easy.  Ice cream.  Hands down.  Every time.  Summer or winter.  Any flavor.

Now, for everyone who has not dozed off, here are my nominees for the Liebster Award:

  1. Barnstorming, the writing home of Dr. Emily Gibson.  I have followed Emily’s blog since the very beginning of my blogging days because has a poet’s heart and a photographer’s eye.  Her blog posts are a feast for the soul.
  2. I feel as if I know Joanne from Days & Thoughts, even though we have only met through the pages of our blog posts.  She is one of the most diverse bloggers I know, sharing book reviews, devotionals, introducing her readers to causes that stir her heart, and taking us to The Hundred Acre Wood now and then.
  3. Michelle Lesley, ministry wife and Bible teacher, is super consistent, posting nearly every day, and sharing her thoughts on the word of God.  She puts together a weekly summary from her own reading on the web, and you can read her November 10th edition here.
  4. Melissa’s blog has a spirit of helpfulness and calm beauty that makes every read like a little visit.  I really enjoy her sense of humor, which shows up even in the name of her site:  Your Mom Has a Blog.
  5. Classes by Beth is a great resource.  Beth shares her thoughts on books and curriculum, and hosts a weekly book-bloggers link-up.  Click here  to visit last week’s party.

I could go on and on, because there is so much great writing out there, and, truly, the only reason why there are not ten blogs listed here is that I couldn’t find the number of followers on most of the blogs I read.  (Remember, one of the qualifications for nomination is that the blog has to have fewer than 3,000 followers.)

Emily, Joanne, Michelle, Melissa, and Beth, here is a list of questions for you, and I hope you enjoy choosing the next round of nominees:

  1.  How long have you been blogging and what got you started?
  2. What is your biggest challenge as a blogger?
  3. What do you hope that your readers know about you and your life that impacts your message?
  4. Who are the most important mentors in your development as a writer, thinker, and believer?
  5. Share a favorite childhood memory.
  6. What is your favorite Scripture verse (or chapter)?
  7. Is there an individual in the pages of Scripture who has impacted your life in a significant way?
  8. When you read a book “just for fun,” what genre is it likely to be?
  9. Do you have a favorite author, and why do you like his/her work?
  10. What is your favorite season and why?

Blessings!


Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with these communities on a regular basis:   Looking Up,   Soli Deo Gloria Connections, Inspire Me Mondays, Good Morning Mondays, Soul Survival, Testimony Tuesday, Titus 2 Tuesday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Live Free Thursdays, Faith-Filled Fridays, Grace and Truth, Fellowship Friday, Still Saturday, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, Faith and Fellowship, Blessing Counters, Women with Intention, Sharing His Beauty, Monday Musings, Motivate and Rejuvenate Monday, Thought Provoking Thursday, Small Wonder, A Little R & R, Beloved Brews, SusanBMead, Faith Along the Way, Cozy Reading Spot, Reflect, Literacy Musing Mondays, Purposeful Faith, The Loft, Words with Winter, Rich Faith Rising, Encourage Me Monday, Tuesday Talk, What to Read Wednesday, Booknificent Thursday, Give Me Grace, Word-filled Wednesday, Faith ‘n Friends

Published by

Michele Morin

Michele Morin is a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. She has been married to an unreasonably patient husband for over 25 years, and their four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Michele loves hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop her in her tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. She laments biblical illiteracy and advocates for the prudent use of “little minutes.” She blogs at Living Our Days, and you can connect with her on Facebook or Twitter.

18 thoughts on “Chosen!”

  1. I faithfully follow a handful of blogs and yours is one of my favs. You are, hands down, the best book reviewer I’ve ever known. I rarely comment but I wanted you to know that I am applauding your award, you definitely deserve it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What do I even say to this, Meema? I am so thankful just to know that you are out there reading – and then to receive the gift of these glowing words on a gray Saturday morning in Maine. I will carry them, humbled, and with a thankful heart.

      Like

  2. Michele, #8 – oh, I so understand your reasoning – you put into words why I don’t I could ever write a book (a short story yes but not a book). We’re both left with 2 (Well – I say 2.5 for me) at home – it’s lovely, isn’t it? Two at home and others that wander in through the week? Like you, I cannot remember a time when I didn’t want to write! I so enjoyed your list! Shalom!

    Like

  3. Thank you for your review of Fervent. I received this book at a conference I attended in October and haven’t begun to read it yet. I am, however, in the middle of Prscilla’s bible study, Armor of God, which sounds like there are similarities. I will be glad to start the book in the future. I also loved getting to know you a bit better through your question and answer section about writing. How fun! Hope you have a blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary! I’ve heard good things about Armor of God as well. I saw Priscilla speak via video at a conference I went to in April and have been meaning to learn more about her ever since, so was glad for the opportunity to read her book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

