When You Don’t Know What to Pray

I’m a note-taker and a scribbler, so the pages of my favorite Bible are highlighted in yellow, underlined in pencil, and inscribed with various colors of pen, but my favorite and most meaningful markings are four sets of initials lightly penciled beside select verses.  These are my four sons’ initials, and they draw my eyes toward words of prayer from the mouths of Old Testament kings and prophets.  They bring to mind prayer requests from the pens of New Testament apostles.  They are reminders that there can be more to my prayer life than my own tired words rolling mechanically from my lips.
From the time my eldest son was born, I have “collected” Scriptural prayers for my boys, and as I have been reading in the book of II Thessalonians, I have encountered four prayers from the heart of the Apostle Paul in Corinth on behalf of his spiritual children in far-away Thessalonica.  Now with my “baby” at age thirteen, my oldest married and a dad, and the middle guys busier than ever, I find that my prayers, like Paul’s, need to come from a place of longing to see them, but, at the same time, trusting the sovereign protection of their Heavenly Father.  Because my prayers (like me) tend to be weighted down with anxiety and a bit short-sighted, I love to soar with the wings of these scriptural prayers for my boys:
Capture
Today I’m visiting over at Soli Deo Gloria, a community where the welcome sign is always out.  Click here to finish reading about Paul’s prayers for his spiritual children in Thessalonica — words that have shaped my own prayer life — and while you are there, be sure to take note of the many topics covered by other writers who speak truth from the Word of God.

Subscribe to Living Our Days to have regular Bible studies and book reviews delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with these communities on a regular basis:   Looking Up,   Soli Deo Gloria Connections, Inspire Me Mondays, Good Morning Mondays, Soul Survival, Testimony Tuesday, Titus 2 Tuesday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Live Free Thursdays, Faith-Filled Fridays, Grace and Truth, Fellowship Friday, Still Saturday, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, Faith and Fellowship, Blessing Counters, Women with Intention, Sharing His Beauty, Monday Musings, Motivate and Rejuvenate Monday, Thought Provoking Thursday, Small Wonder, A Little R & R, Beloved Brews, SusanBMead, Faith Along the Way, Cozy Reading Spot, Reflect, Literacy Musing Mondays, Purposeful Faith, The Loft, Words with Winter, Rich Faith Rising, Encourage Me Monday, Tuesday Talk, What to Read Wednesday, Booknificent Thursday, Give Me Grace, Word-filled Wednesday, Faith ‘n Friends

Published by

Michele Morin

Michele Morin is a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. She has been married to an unreasonably patient husband for over 25 years, and their four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Michele loves hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop her in her tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. She laments biblical illiteracy and advocates for the prudent use of “little minutes.” She blogs at Living Our Days, and you can connect with her on Facebook or Twitter.

11 thoughts on “When You Don’t Know What to Pray”

  1. Hello Michelle, thank you for this post. I’m not married yet, so I do not use my ‘kids’ initials rather I mark scriptures I pray for them with the letter C. I’m really blessed by the scriptures you shared over at SDG.
    Thank you for your encouragement and for sharing with us at #EncourageMeLinkup
    Have a great week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michele – what a neat idea! 🙂 I’m going to start doing this in my own Bible, and maybe use my husband’s initial, too, for areas to pray for him. Thanks for sharing with us over at Grace and Truth last week!
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

