Invitation to Adventure

I may possibly have rolled my eyes a teensy bit as I glanced at the 3×5 card from my pocket:

“Sing praise to the Lord for He has done gloriously.  Let this be made known in all the earth,” Isaiah 12:5.

It’s not that I disbelieve the first clause; no, it’s the scope of the second clause that triggered the response.  However, today, pushing a lawnmower, hair like Medusa in a wild autumn breeze, my eye-rolling response went immediately into auto-correct, because I had already turned the final page of Every Little Thing by Deidra Riggs, and her words were still singing quietly under the injunction of that ancient prophet.  The truth is that I am a small-platform kind of person, and if I want to make something known even  “in all the house,” I’d better say it at the dinner table on an evening when everyone is home — and then hope that everyone was listening!  It’s easy to feel insignificant, even obsolete, but I am learning that God has a different message to share:

“Most of us will make a difference in this world, but not because of some grand or large-scale initiative.  No, most of us will change our corner of the world and make an impact that stands the test of time through the small and seemingly insignificant [to us] interactions and decisions and conversations of our average days.  We make a difference where we live, and incrementally, that place begins to shift.”

What a relief to be reminded that my sandwich-making, mini-van driving, vegetable canning days are not inconsequential.  In our culture of “go big or go home,” it is a gift to hear that faithfulness to God’s daily assignments in a particular time and place can make breathtaking changes — first of all, in me.

A skilled story teller, Deidra starts us out in her little yellow childhood home on Sycamore Avenue or soaring over the earth in a stylish parachute, but before we know it, we’re in New Testament era Palestine, witnessing a close call with an impromptu execution.  The strands of a tale twine like DNA, infusing the life of a lesson into the weaving, and straightening out the crooked fibers of the lies that we tell ourselves:

  • We feel small when we focus on our sin and forget grace.  Instead of helplessly watching the parade as your record of wrongs struts itself before your eyes, claim the truth from Romans 8:1!  No condemnation!
  • We feel small when fear stops serving us and starts controlling us.  Every Little Thing unfolds the road map revealing that “trust is the pathway through fear.”

I suspect that the reason Deidra’s words resonate with encouragement is that her high view of God translates into a high view of His people:

“The voice of God breaks through the chaos, and the excellency of the power is of God and not of us, and it is so magnificent that it slips through and into the very fiber of our beings so that we have to still our hearts and catch our breath and trust that light scatters the darkness every time.”

Every Little Thing trumpets the power of the timeless Gospel.  We add nothing to it by all our goodness, and we take nothing away from it in all our brokenness.


Visit Deidra’s blog, Jumping Tandem, and read more about Every Little Thing, as well as a wealth of other encouraging words.


This book was provided by BakerBooks, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my review.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link-up with these communities on a regular basis:   Looking Up,   Soli Deo Gloria Connections, Inspire Me Mondays, Good Morning Mondays, Soul Survival, Testimony Tuesday, Titus 2 Tuesday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Live Free Thursdays, Faith-Filled Fridays, Grace and Truth, Fellowship Friday, Still Saturday, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, Faith and Fellowship, Blessing Counters, Women with Intention, Sharing His Beauty, Monday Musings, Motivate and Rejuvenate Monday, Thought Provoking Thursday, Small Wonder, A Little R & R, Beloved Brews, SusanBMead, Faith Along the Way, Cozy Reading Spot, Reflect, Literacy Musing Mondays, Purposeful Faith, The Loft, Words with Winter, Rich Faith Rising, Tuesday Talk, Encourage Me Monday, What to Read Wednesday, Booknificent Thursday, Give Me Grace, Three-Word Wednesday, Word-filled Wednesdays

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

41 thoughts on “Invitation to Adventure”

  1. I actually have this book on my nightstand but can’t start it yet until I finish up some other library books that will be due soon. You make me even more ready to read it! I’m a small-platform person too, so I’m thankful God sees our hearts instead of our reach.

    Like

  2. “The voice of God breaks through the chaos, and the excellency of the power is of God and not of us, and it is so magnificent that it slips through and into the very fiber of our beings so that we have to still our hearts and catch our breath and trust that light scatters the darkness every time.” <—- I love this! Such a powerful truth! Michele, this has been one of my favorite posts from you! I was blessed by your every word. Thank you so very much for sharing this! Peace and many blessings to you, Love! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your book review, Michele. You do such a great job of weaving your thoughts about the book into your life experiences and messages. I also love the thought that our sandwich-making, van-driving days do, indeed, have a glorious purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. this reminded me of one of my favorite quotes:
    “…humanity is like an enormous spider web, so that if you touch it anywhere, you set the whole thing trembling. As we move around this world and as we act with kindness, perhaps, or with indifference, or withhostility, toward the people we meet, we too are setting the great spider web a-tremble. The life that I touch for good or ill will touch another life, and that in turn another, until who knows where the trembling stops or in what far place and time my touch will be felt.”
    –Frederick Buechner, The Hungering Dark

    I love the idea of everyone connected with an enormous spider web, so that when we make what seems to be a small impact on our corner, it actually set the whole thing in motion and has far reaching impacts – even when we may not see them.

    Like

  5. Wow…you’ve made me want to read this book even more. I received it at a conference recently, and feel the need to finish up some of the other books in my stack first. But Every Little Thing sounds amazing, and will probably skip to the top of the reading list. 🙂 I love that you said it “trumpets the power of the timeless Gospel.” That’s what I need more of in my daily life! Thanks for sharing this, Angela (coming from #livefreeThursday)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Michele, this was such a great infusion of Deirdra’s book and your own life. Beautifully done! AND what a humble reminder to focus on Jesus, not fear or condemnation! I just love stopping by here each week! You are a blessing!
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  7. THIS! “Most of us will make a difference in this world, but not because of some grand or large-scale initiative. No, most of us will change our corner of the world and make an impact that stands the test of time through the small and seemingly insignificant [to us] interactions and decisions and conversations of our average days. We make a difference where we live, and incrementally, that place begins to shift.” AMEN!! Thanks for sharing this good, encouraging post that reminds me to keep my perspective where it needs to be. Blessings… #DanceWithJesus

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey Michelle,

    I came over tonight to find your post on Me, Coffee, and Jesus.

    This book sounds really good and practical. I’ve not heard of the title, but I will have to look it up now that you’ve reviewed it.

    Also, I have a question – how did you get started reviewing books? I’d love to hear about your experience.

    Hope you have a blessed week~
    Melanie

    Like

    1. Melanie, I’ve been blogging for a little over a year, and I started out by guest posting on my church’s blog. I started reviewing books just because I love to read, and believe that God can use our reading choices to broaden our appreciation of Him — not to mention our knowledge of Him. As time has passed I have begun reviewing books for a few Christian publishers. It was a challenge for me to expand my “follower base”, because most publishers require a minimum number of followers before they will send books for review. I think it may have been Baker Publishing Group that began sending me books first. Now, I have a goal of reviewing a couple of books a week. I LOVE reading theology, but also do a lot of books on Christian living, occasionally some fiction, and am beginning to review children’s books now that my grandson is getting to be old enough to “test drive” them with me. I’m thankful to be a fairly speedy reader, and God is using this aspect of my studying/writing/reading to deepen my walk with Him, and it helps in my teaching ministry as well. Thanks for asking, Melanie!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for all of the wonderful information, Michele! I appreciate you sharing your journey with me! It sounds like you have found a great niche and a cool way to read a lot of books!

        I’ll be sure to stop back by again soon to see what you are reading next!

        Hope you have a blessed Monday~
        Melanie

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Michele, how are you? I love this book! All the reviews I have read centres on impart and influencing our world positively.
    And Deidra is such a wonderful and spirited writer.
    Thank you for sharing about it.
    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This sounds like a fantastic book. I don’t know of a time when it’s not a good thing to be reminded of the gospel. Oh, how we need it! And oh, how it changes everything! Even our perspective of our mundane tasks and our small platforms. Thank you for sharing this with us at Grace & Truth!

    Like

  11. “most of us will change our corner of the world and make an impact that stands the test of time through the small and seemingly insignificant…” Here’s to God making something out of the small stuff! Lovely book review – now, I’ve gotta read it. Visiting you from Faith N’ Friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You do such a fantastic job weaving your own thoughts and experiences into your reviews. I have much to learn from you when it comes to reviewing, but most of all, your reviews make me want to read books WITH you so that I can learn not only from the books but from you as well. Thanks so much for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday!
    Tina

    Like

  13. Isn’t this such wonderful truth to behold? Especially at a time when big resolutions for the new year insight such fear …to know that God honors each tiny interaction in faith. Your writing is beautiful.
    Happy Thursday, from #LiveFree Thursday.
    Megs

    Like

Leave a Reply

