Brother Andrew: Still Opening Doors

As a child of the Cold War era, I learned a chilling fascination for anything to do with “The Iron Curtain.”  When my high school music teacher started spending her summer vacations on short-term missions trips to Eastern Europe, I was certain that I, too, would be called to minister in lands closed to the Gospel, so I began to prepare by copying all my record albums onto cassette tapes (more portable) and by reading everything I could get my hands on about the Soviet Bloc countries.  I held my breath through God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew — close calls at the border crossings with Bibles hidden in every nook and cranny of his V.W.; expulsion from Yugoslavia by the secret police; his holy boldness in defying regimes that were bent on snuffing out the light of truth in their land.

Sixty years after Brother Andrew’s first trip, an expanded version of God’s Smuggler has been released with an epilogue that chronicles his thirty-plus years of ministry in the Muslim world.  As the head of a world-wide ministry called Open Doors, Brother Andrew is still working to encourage and strengthen the persecuted church.  The work has expanded from simply smuggling Bibles to also providing training for church leaders, offering small business loans to encourage Christians to become financially independent, and advocating for those who have been unjustly imprisoned.  Although, at age 86, Brother Andrew is no longer travelling, he is still on the offensive with an aggressive Great Commission prayer ministry.

A Christian classic with over 10 million sold, God’s Smuggler is a fascinating biography set in a unique period of history in which the church found grace to grow in spite of persecution and hardship.  Alongside stories of bravery and sacrifice are the humorous accounts of playing cat and mouse with Communist officials, inspiring tales in which money appeared from an unexpected source in tandem with an unforeseen need; and a quietly heroic marriage that withstood the strain of frequent separations with the continual threat of arrest and imprisonment.  Corry and Andrew’s mantra was:  “We don’t know where we’re going, but we’re glad we’re going there together.”

Although the Iron Curtain is now a relic of the past, there are still places where followers of Christ are paying for their beliefs with their freedom and even with their blood.  While I never did receive that call to be a missionary, I still read Brother Andrew’s  Prayer of God’s Smuggler with the same heart-felt response that came when I first read it at age sixteen:

“Lord, in my luggage I have Scripture that I want to take to Your children across this border.  When You were on earth, You made blind eyes see. Now, I pray, make seeing eyes blind.  Do not let the guards see those things You do not want them to see.”

God’s Smuggler is a call to action on behalf of the persecuted church and a call to prayer on behalf of those who faithfully serve.


This book was provided by Chosen Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group,  in exchange for my review.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link up with these communities on a regular basis:  Looking Up,   Soli Deo Gloria Connections, Inspire Me Mondays, Good Morning Mondays, Soul Survival, Testimony Tuesday, Titus 2 Tuesday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Live Free Thursdays, Faith-Filled Fridays, Grace and Truth, Fellowship Friday, Still Saturday, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, Faith and Fellowship, Blessing Counters, Women with Intention, Sharing His Beauty, Monday Musings, Motivate and Rejuvenate Monday, Thought Provoking Thursday, Small Wonder, A Little R & R, Beloved Brews, SusanBMead, Faith Along the Way, Cozy Reading Spot, Reflect, Literacy Musing Mondays, Purposeful Faith, The Loft, Words with Winter, Rich Faith Rising

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

22 thoughts on “Brother Andrew: Still Opening Doors”

  1. Oh, wow! I had no idea that he was still alive! I remember reading the book when I was ten or eleven and thinking he was an ‘old man’ back then. I’ll have to look into the expanded version :).

    Like

    1. YES! I had the same response, and also recently read a book by J.I. Packer who is also in his 80’s and still going strong. When that generation has all been promoted to heaven, Earth is going to feel pretty empty.

      Like

  2. I’m glad to hear about the expanded version. My husband and I spent time one summer behind the Iron Curtain encouraging the saints. It changed my life forever.

    Like

  3. Love the books you review on missionaries. Yet another book that I need to “add to my collection” (and of course, then actually read). Thanks for sharing with #What to Read Wednesday. We hope you will link-up again next week.

    Like

  4. Good morning Michele! Years ago we read this book together as a family. Brother Andrew is such an inspiration. Did not realize he was still alive. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a joy to know Bro. Andrew is still involved in ministry!

    I personally have not read “God’s Smuggler,” but I’ve certainly heard of Bro. Andrew. Thank you for sharing today at The Loft.

    Like

  6. I’ve read this book numerous times, my sweet sister. It always warms my heart how God moves to hear and complete His mission. Today the Soviet Union is trying to shackle the Gospel – they think it can be contained. They’re in for a surprise. God cannot be contained – He cannot be limited. History (His Story) has proved Jesus is faithful in His faithfulness. Thank again for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

