The Greatest and Hardest Thing

“Do you always read to your kids like that?” she queried.

My friend was referring to my rendition of a Dr. Seuss classic delivered at tongue-twister speed from a rocking chair in the church nursery.

“Just Dr. Seuss,” I replied. “It’s funnier if you read it fast.”

She grinned and raised an eyebrow. “You do everything fast.”

She was right and I think she actually meant it as a compliment, but she spoke more truth than she knew. Hands full and lap full, I was hard-wired for hurry in a world where I knew—I KNEW—that true success might actually mean sitting in a chair holding a sick baby all day. It might mean reading out loud to my older kids while I held the baby, just to maintain infrastructure and rule of law. You can polish off an entire Boxcar Children book that way, but really … How do you cross that off a to-do list?

Fast forward a dozen years, and I don’t spend much time in the nursery any more. These days it’s the women’s ministry in my church that has a way of putting my multi-tasking, hair-on-fire heart into a position to be challenged and changed and brought along the way by women who have learned the secret of slow.

One boils water and brews a scalding mug of tea that can barely be sipped. She’s not thinking about the wonderful work she is doing with her kettle and her pungent brew. She’s not thinking of herself at all. . .

DSCN0593

Read the rest of this story about the secret of slow over at SheLoves, an online magazine that is really a global community of women who are seeking to glorify God in our every day living, loving, and serving.  Oh, and while you’re there, you’ll be amazed at all the inspiring stories you will find.


Subscribe to get regular Bible studies and book reviews from Living Our Days delivered to your inbox.  Just enter your e-mail address in the box at the top of this page.

I link up with these communities on a regular basis:  Soli Deo Gloria Connections, Inspire Me Mondays, Good Morning Mondays, Soul Survival, Testimony Tuesday, Titus 2 Tuesday, Tell His Story, Coffee for Your Heart, Live Free Thursdays, Faith-Filled Fridays, Grace and Truth, Fellowship Friday, Still Saturday, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, Faith and Fellowship, Blessing Counters, Women with Intention, Sharing His Beauty, Monday Musings, Motivate and Rejuvenate Monday, Thought Provoking Thursday, Small Wonder, A Little R & R, Beloved Brews, SusanBMead, Faith Along the Way, Cozy Reading Spot

Published by

Michele Morin

Michele Morin is a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. She has been married to an unreasonably patient husband for over 25 years, and their four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Michele loves hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop her in her tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. She laments biblical illiteracy and advocates for the prudent use of “little minutes.” She blogs at Living Our Days, and you can connect with her on Facebook or Twitter.

13 thoughts on “The Greatest and Hardest Thing”

  1. This is just beautiful! I followed you over to She Loves to read the rest and I am so glad that I did. I understand the busy hurry up lifestyle. I have lived it most of my life. Now that I am retired I am trying to find the balance in life that doesn’t always leave me breathless. Blessed you shared this at The Weekend Brew.

    Like

  2. Gosh I’m at that point where I always rush, do something so fast that sometimes I’m not sure what happened or where I am going next. So many lessons to learn here.

    Like

  3. For 55 years… from 14 to 69 … I had done “Grinch” at schools, at churches, hospitals, and homes. My English teacher when I was 14 told me to memorize a book…and none of us knew it then, since it was just about a year or so old… and she told me memorize it and do it at the jr. hi school in Tacoma and she’d have me on the children’s TV show. That was the beginning. I did it then, and have done it many times since then. Now at my age… just turned 70 last week 4 days ago… I’m not good enough at the acting any more. I’ve also been doing a Christmas story, too, called “The Innkeeper’s Daughter”… and have done that for 38 years. Doing both of them most of the time. Sometimes schools don’t allow “Innkeeper’s” b/c Christianity has disappeared in many places. Anyhow, sorry to yammer so long, but this really grabbed me. Bless you…

    Like

  4. I remember a few years ago, as we were rushing off to who knows where, my daughter asked me why we are always in a rush. That question has stayed with me, and even though I still feel like I’m often rushing when I don’t need to be, it has been a good reminder to me to slow down. Thanks for sharing. Visiting you from Testimony Tuesday!

    Like

  5. Oh, this is so good, Michele. I’ve been challenged to slow down, too. And not just slow down, but to really focus on what’s important in the moment. I’m working on it. Or I guess I should say, God is working on me! 🙂 I’m so glad I am your neighbor at Women with Intention Wednesdays! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

