Blog Swap!

            Michelle Lesley is my guest today in this, my first-ever blog swap.  Our intent is to give our readers the benefit of a different writing voice and greater diversity of content.
            I have been following Michelle’s blog for some time, and have been challenged  by her clarity and confidence as she encourages her readers to pursue righteousness and the wisdom that comes from the Word of God.  Michelle is a ministry wife, the homeschooling mother of six, and a published author.  She also teaches a ladies’ Sunday School class in her church in Louisiana and, miraculously, cranks out an article on her blog nearly every day.  From the abundance of available content, I have chosen to share with you her post called:

You’re Not as Dumb as You Think You Are:  Five Reasons to Put Down that Devotional and Pick Up the Actual Bible.

          .

Michelle Lesley is addressing a mindset that devalues the work of the Holy Spirit in the life of the believer.  He promises to guide you into all truth (Jn. 16:13) and to give understanding (Ps. 119:34), but, often, we circumvent that spectacular privilege by reading other peoples’ interpretation of the Bible instead of the Word of God itself.  This is a temptation I have battled in my own teaching preparation, so I know that you will be challenged by Michelle’s words today:

“My heart goes out to these ladies because they desperately want to learn from God’s Word, but somewhere along the way, someone or something has convinced these perfectly intelligent women–I haven’t met a dumb one, yet– that they’re not good enough or smart enough for God’s Word.”

Click here to continue reading and don’t forget to subscribe to and follow Michelle Lesley on social media.


What are some of your greatest challenges in studying the Word of God?  Do you find it tempting to jump right into a commentary rather than comparing scripture with scripture, using cross references, and studying the context on your own?  What’s working well for you as you press on to know the Lord through His own written words?

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Blog Swap!”

Leave a Reply

