The Most Important Thing You Can Do for Your Son

A Mom’s Prayers for Her Son by Rob & Joanna Teigen:  A Book Review

There’s nothing like becoming a mother to ratchet up the frequency, sincerity, and desperation of one’s prayer life.  My husband and I had four boys in eight years, and I was horrified to realize that a new blender comes with more instructions than a new baby.  Furthermore, the advice that comes from well-meaning friends and relatives is usually a confusing kaleidoscope of conflicting information.

Sometimes, even as we pray, we reveal that same lack of focus.  During the toddler years, we pray that our boys will be healthy, strong and creative, knowing all the while that their vigor, power and ingenuity may be the death of our living room furniture..  As they grow, we pray that they will be humble servant-leaders, even as we storm the heavens on their behalf that they will make every team, nail every audition, and excel in school.   Then, just as most mothers are becoming hormonally-crazed, middle-aged, and exhausted, their sons begin to test the limits of parental authority, the reality of their faith, and their mother’s sanity.  What are the right words to pray, when you’re no longer sure what you want God to do?

Rob and Joanna Teigen have issued a call to prayer for the mothers of sons, and they have taken it a step further by offering the gift of words for all seasons of our boys’ lives.  A mom who wishes to pray for her boy during good times and bad will find help for all the “whens” of life:   when he’s going through a storm, when he’s grieving, when he’s stressed, when he needs to be generous, when he’s making plans for his future, and even when he’s having fun!  The seventy-seven written prayers are interspersed with encouragement to pray for all the many facets of a young man’s life, as well as personal accounts  from popular authors or bloggers who have seen God work in the lives of their sons through their motherly prayers.

I especially appreciated the realism which infuses the book.  Christian mothers have been counseled over the years to dance dangerously close to the edge of determinism in their parenting:  “If you, the mother, do or pray for “X,” then you can be assured that your believing child will do “Y.”  Joanna maintains this view:

“No matter how much I care for and love them , I can’t make them who I want them to be.  I can’t keep them safe.  I can’t control their future or their choices.  I can’t be the perfect mother I tell myself they need.  I look at them and at myself and realize that without God, we are lost.”

This book is a treasure that will encourage a lifetime of intercession, and also stands to enhance the mother/son relationship by increased understanding.  This is a book that I will give to my daughter-in-law as she and I together pray for my first grandson.

I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

Published by

Michele Morin

I am a teacher, blogger, reader, and gardener who finds joy in sitting at a table surrounded by women with open Bibles. I have been married to an unreasonably patient husband for nearly 27 years, and our four children are growing up at an alarming rate. Nonetheless, two teens still remain at home, and along with an incorrigible St. Bernard, we laugh, make messes, clean them up, and then start all over again. I love hot tea and well-crafted sentences, poems that stop me in my tracks and days at the ocean with the whole family. I lament biblical illiteracy and advocate for the prudent use of "little minutes." I blog at Living Our Days because "the way I live my days will be, after all, the way I live my life." You can connect with me on Facebook or Twitter.

One thought on “The Most Important Thing You Can Do for Your Son”

  1. Thank you for your kind words, Michele! What a wonderful thing that your four boys (and grandsons-to-be) have a praying mother who cares so much and places them in God’s hands. Blessings on you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

